by Miranda Tuttle

PICTURE LINK: http://elitedaily.com/news/officer-helps-injured-runner-finish-marathon/1277895/

Marathon runner Robert McCoy competed in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon held in Savannah, Georgia on November 5. Just two-hundred yards from the finish line, he fell, and hit his head sustaining scrapes on his face, knees and back. A police officer monitoring the race ran out to help McCoy cross the finish line.

Sgt. John Cain rushed over after seeing McCoy hit the surface hard. Cain told TODAY the runner was, “bleeding pretty good at the time, and he kept saying, in a whispering type of voice, ‘I’ve got to finish this race. Please help me, I have to finish this race.'”

Cain, with the end goal in sight, helped a bloodied and banged-up McCoy to his feet and kept a steady grip on his arm as the two men jogged to the finish line. “I knew he had some mission he needed to accomplish. My heart bled for him. Literally, my heart went out to him.”

McCoy was running for his late father- last April passed away from cancer. McCoy himself survived stage 4 lymphoma cancer five years ago.

On Monday November 9, McCoy stopped by the police department to drop off his finisher’s medal from the race, and gave the medal to Cain.

PICTURE LINK: http://www.today.com/news/georgia-policeman-helps-injured-runner-cross-finish-line-honor-his-t54906

“He deserved it more than I did, because if it weren’t for him, I wouldn’t have finished the race for my dad.” said McCoy insisting,”He’s the real hero. He kinda scooped me off the ground and helped me through there at the end.”

Cain deflects the attention, and truly believe the hero should be McCoy, “He is an inspiration to me, he is the hero in this story.”Cain also said that the photo “speaks volumes for all law enforcement officers who are out there daily doing exactly what I just did, and they’re never recognized.”

“I am just glad I was in a position to help him do that,” Cain said.
Down below is a link to a video of the 2 finishing the race:

